CA:Twilight-Ch.1 First Sight

Twilight, Chapter One- First Sight

Initial Reaction: Not the most exciting chapter. Of course, what first chapters are, really? The most exciting part of this chapter is, of courssse, the introduction of the Cullens and Bio Class. The only other thing that happens in this chapter is we meet some other characters (boring humans, blah) and Bella goes to school. Just like Curious George. Didnt he go to school? I have no clue, I only ever read the puzzle piece swallowing episode. Haha, anyway, back to Twilight.

Thoughts: -The very first paragraph is about the weather being nice in Phoenix and that Bella’s “carry-on item was a parka.” No novel starts with a paragraph about the weather unless the weather is going to be important. Obviously, with this book it is. Stephenie mentions the weather many, many times in the first chapter. Foreshadowing? I think so.
-We get a very good idea about Charlie’s love for Bella in the first chapter when he buys her the car. It’s all awkward and adorable.
-This introduction to Jessica makes me dislike her a lot. The whole lunchroom scene when she is talking to Bella about the Cullens is very… unflattering to her. “…I got the impression that [Jessica] didn’t like the doctor and his wife for some reason. With the glances she was throwing at their adopted children, I would presume the reason was jealousy.”; “…she said in a voice that implied it should be obvious, even to a new arrival like me.” Some people like Jessica later (not me personally, never been a fan), but with this exposition of her, makes me think that Stephenie doesn’t like her. Thoughts, Twilighters?

Play by Play
-Renee drives Bella to plane.
-Bella arrives in Forks.
-Intro to Charlie
-Intro to beloved red truck
-Bella unpacks and cries
-Bella goes to school
-Intro to Eric, Mike, Jessica and the Cullens
-Bio Class
-Bella sees Edward in the office
-Bella cries

Memorable Quotes
The memorable quotes for this chapter kinda suck, but….

“How could I leave my loving, erratic, harebrained mother to fend for herself? Of course she had Phil now, so the bills would probably get paid, there would be food in the refrigerator, gas in her car, and someone to call when she got lost, but still….”– This little paragraph just gives us a really good idea of Renee’s character. We never really see her enough to get this out of her actions or quotes, so I’m glad we have this funny little paragraph.

“I didn’t relate well to people my age.”– I just find this sentence hilariously ironic. There are so many little things like this that you notice once you read it knowing about the vampires and such.

“…I was watching him surreptitiously. Just as I passed, he suddenly went rigid in his seat. He stared at me again, meeting my eyes with the strangest expression on his face- it was hostile, furious. I looked away quickly, shocked, going red again. I stumbled over a book in the walkway and had to catch myself on the edge of the table. The girl sitting there giggled. I’d noticed that his eyes were black- coal black.”– This is just a really great paragraph. It’s pretty perfect. ‘Nuff said.

“It couldn’t have anything to do with me. He didn’t know me from Eve.”– Who talks like this? Seriously? What 17-year-old girl talks like that? Maybe this has to do with the fact that Bella isn’t like other 17-year-old girls and doesn’t relate to 17-year-old girls.

“So, did you stab Edward Cullen with a pencil or what? I’ve never seen him act like that.”– I see that first sentence on a lot of avatars. I guess it’s funny, but there are definitely funnier ones. Favorite Mike quote, perhaps? Any big Mike fans out there?

Hilarious Moments
There arent really any hilarious moments in this chapter. These are the pathetic ones I found for lack of any more reasonable moments.

“I sat frozen in my seat, staring blankly after him. He was so mean. It wasn’t fair.”–  I think this deserves a “Life isn’t fair, Bella.” I dunno, I just found this sentence funny.

“‘So, this is a lot different than Phoenix, huh?’ [Eric] asked.
‘Very.’
‘It doesn’t rain much there, does it?’
‘Three or four times a year.’
‘Wow, what must that be like?’ he wondered.
‘Sunny,’ I told him.
‘You don’t look very tan.’
‘My mother is part albino.’
He studied my face apprehensively, and I sighed. It looked like clouds and a sense of humor didn’t mix. A few months of this and I’d forget how to use sarcasm.”– I find that whole conversation hilarious too. Bella’s sarcasm is awesome. Silly Eric!

Chapter Song
-When It Rains- Paramore

This song, to me, relates to Edward running away to Alaska, which he does at the end of the chapter, even though Bella doesn’t see it. Also, duh, the whole chapter is about it raining.

And when it rains on this side of town
It touches everything
Just say it again and mean it
We don’t miss a thing
You made yourself a bed at the bottom
of the blackest hole (blackest hole)
and convinced yourself
that it’s not the reason you don’t see the sun anymore

and no (oh) how could you do it
(oh I) I never saw it coming
(no oh) I need an ending
So why can’t you stay
Just long enough to explain

And when it rains
You always find an escape
Just running away
From all of the ones who love you
From everything
You made yourself a bed at the bottom
Of the blackest hole (blackest hole)
And you’ll sleep till May
You’ll say that you don’t want to see the sun anymore

and no (oh) how could you do it
(oh I) I never saw it coming
(no oh) I need an ending
So why can’t you stay
Just long enough to explain

(Explain your side, Take my side)
Take these chances to turn it around
Take these chances we’ll make it somehow
And Take these chances and turn it around
Just turn it around.

and no (oh) how could you do it
(oh I) I never saw it coming
no (oh) how could you do it
(oh I) I never saw it coming
no (oh) how could you do it
(oh I) I never saw it coming and
(no oh) I need an ending
So why can’t you stay
Just long enough to explain

You can take your time, take my time.

~ by Gretchen on September 18, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
