CD: Comparing the Actors to the Characters

This is just comparing the actor’s physically to the character descriptions. I wont be doing every character, because that would take a crapload of time. So, here we go.

-Bella-
-Cullen Kids-
-Jessica-
-Mike-
-Eric-
-Angela-
-Jake-

Bella Swan

Photobucket
“Instead, I was ivory-skinned, without even the excuse of blue eyes or red hair, despite the constant sunshine. I had always been slender, but soft somehow, obviously not an athlete; I didn’t have the necessary hand-eye cordination to play sports without humiliating myself — and harming both myself and anyone else who stood too close.”
-Twilight. US Paperback. Pg. 10. Chapter One, First Sight

On a totally unrelated note, I noticed that Stephenie uses — a lot. Anyway, I think Kristen looks like Bella should. She’s pretty and in some pictures, my default, gorgeous. She’s pale, she’s a brunette. I have no problems at all with her look. I think she will look perfect in the movie. Check out this interesting excerpt from the IMDB Trivia:
Kristen Stewart has naturally green eyes. She wears brown contacts for filming because Bella is supposed to have brown eyes.

I just think that is so cool. It always pissed me off that you could clearly see Dan Radcliffle’s blue eyes, when Harry very obviously has green (they only mention it about a thousand times each book). I just love that they’re keeping that continuity, even though it’s not the big a deal. Props to you, Kristen!!

Cullen Kids
Photobucket
“They didn’t look anything alike. Of the three boys, one was big — muscled like a serious weight lifter, with dark, curly hair. Another was taller, leaner, but still muscular, and honey blond. The last was lanky, less bulky, with untidy, bronze-colored hair. He was more boyish than the others, who looked like they could be in college, or even teachers here rather than students.
The girls were opposites. The tall one was statuesque. She had a beautiful figure, the kind you saw on the cover of the Sports Illustrated swimsuit issue, the kind that made every girl around her take a hit on her self-esteem just by being in the same room. Her hair was golden, gently waving to the middle of her back. The short girl was pixielike, thin in the extreme, with small features. Her hair was a deep black, cropped short and pointing in every direction.
And yet, they were all exactly alike. Every one of them was chalky pale, the palest of all the students living in this sunless town. Paler than me, the albino. They all had very dark eyes despite the range in hair tones. They also had dark shadows under those eyes — purplish, bruise-like shadows. As if they were all suffering from a sleepless night, or almost done recovering from a broken nose. Though their noses, all their features, were straight, perfect, angular….
I stared because their faces, so different, so similar, were all devastatingly, inhumanly beautiful. They were faces you never expected to see except perhaps on the airbrushed pages of a fashion magazine. Or painted by an old master as the face of an angel. It was hard to decide who was the most beautiful — maybe the perfect blond girl, or the bronze-haired boy.”
-Twilight. US Paperback. Pg. 19. Chapter One, First Sight.


So I quite literally just noticed that they’re all wearing colored contacts. How did I miss that? It’s most noticable with Kellan. He looks amazing!!! -fangirl squee-
In that picture, they don’t really have bruises under their eyes. I don’t know if they’re going to for the movie, but I think they aren’t. And I’m okay with that. I never pictured them with bruises, and I never really remembered that they had them. So that’s cool. Also, duh, they’re all pale. That’s good. Haha.

Emmett- Emmett’s the first one described. Honestly, Kellan doesn’t look quite as muscled as you’d think Emmett would, but that’s alright. He still looks strong and amazing!!!!!! Oh my robness, I love Kellan. Now, check out this interesting trivia fact from IMDB (the only other trivia fact):

Kellan Lutz intended on keeping his natural curly hair for the role of Emmett Cullen. However, his previous role in _”Generation Kill” (2008)_ required a buzz cut and his hair didn’t grow fast enough for the filming of “Twilight”.

This is sad. That would have been awesome if he’d been able to keep the hair, because then he would have matched the Emmett description, like, perfectly!! And that’s also kinda important to Rosalie’s story, but I guess that’s not that big a deal. I do like his buzz cut though. It looks good. My Final Verdict: Kellan (omg i just accidently spelled Kellan, Kullen) fits the Emmett description. He is totally my Emmett.
Jasper: The next one described is Jasper. It says “honey-blond” for his hair color. I’m really not sure what exactly that color is, but I think his hair looks like that. The one problem is, of course, the poof. It’s so damn poofy!! He certainly looks “leaner” than Emmett. I don’t know about taller, but I don’t really care about that. Jackson pretty much is Jasper. I think he looks perfect.
Edward: Rob is definitely my Edward. I love the hair, I love the face. I love everything about him. I didn’t know the definition of lanky, so here it is:

Lanky
1. Ungracefully tall and thin
2. Tall and thin and having long slender limbs
So that first one doesn’t really apply. I’m pretty sure it’s the second. Edward is definitely tall, thin and has long, slender limbs. So does Rob! Edward is described as more “boyish than the others.” I think Jackson looks the most boyish out of those three actors, though. Here are some ages: Jackson, 23; Robert, 21 (almost 22); Kellan, 22. That’s odd that I think Jackson looks the youngest even though Rob is. I guess that’s good for Rob, that he’s only 21. Ok, let’s wrap this up. So basically, I think Rob is the perfect Edward. Perfect.
Rosalie: When I first saw that pic ^ I didn’t think Nikki was amazingly gorgeous like Rose should be. But seeing the new videos, I think Nikki will be great. I especially love her in the new MTV video. She looks like a fantastic Rosalie. I really like her hair too, haha.
Alice: Ashley is so cute. She’s just adorable, especially when she’s curled up in her chair next to Jackson during that MTV interview. It doesn’t really matter that she’s not as short as Alice. She’s just as cute! I really like her hair too. It would be weird if her hair was really really short. It’s a good length right now. Her hair isn’t “deep black”, but it really makes no difference. I like Ashley as Alice a lot.

Jessica
Photobucket
“One girl sat next to me in both Trig and Spanish, and she walked with me to the cafeteria for lunch. She was tiny, several inches shorter than my five feet four inches, but her widly curly dark hair made up a lot of the difference between our heights.”

-Twilight. US Paperback. Pg. 17. Chapter 1, First Sight.


Anna is just adorable!! Look at that picture!! She makes me actually want to like Jessica!! Anna is actually 5’4″, so she’s the height Bella should be. But Kristen is 5’6″, so that’s still 2 inches difference. I don’t really think Jessica’s height is a big deal. Anna has dark hair, but I really have no clue how it’s styled in the movie. I like it in that picture though. She’s just so adorable!!! Haha. Basically, I think Anna makes a great Jessica, looks wise.

Mike
Photobucket
“I looked up to see a cute, baby-faced boy, his pale blond hair carefully gelled into orderly spikes, smiling at me in a friendly way.”
-Twilight. US Paperback. Pg. 25. Chapter One, First Sight.

So since they have the same name, I’m gonna call Mike the character, Mike, and Michael Welch, Michael. I think Michael looks like a perfect Mike. He looks so adorable in that picture. Bailey, aka NoMoreMarbles, said something like, “I can see the golden retriever in him!” I agree, Bailey. Michael is cute, he is baby-faced, though he might look kinda less baby-ish now. I don’t know when that picture was taken. He doesn’t have blond hair, and I don’t know how they’re styling his hair. I think they’re just going to leave it the same. I love his hair though, so I don’t care. Again, he makes me want to like Mike!

Eric
Photobucket
“When the bell rang, a nasal buzzing sound, a gangly boy with skin problems and hair black as an oil slick leaned across the table to talk to me.”
-Twilight. US Paperback. Pg. 15+16. Chapter One, First Sight.


Justin doesn’t look quite as geeky as I imagined Eric. Though he is wearing a nice collared shirt. He definitely has the black hair. I really do like him as Eric though. I think he’s going to be great. I really see him as Eric now.

Angela
Photobucket
I couldn’t really find a quote of an Angela description. The only thing in the first chapter is “She was shy, too.” (Pg. 23)
But I would imagine Angela to look very sweet and nice, which is how Christian looks in this picture. I think she’s got the perfect look for Angela. She’s adorable too!! They’re all so adorable!!!!!


Jake
Photobucket
“He looked fourteen, maybe fifteen, and had long, glossy black hair pulled back with a rubber band at the nape of his neck. His skin was beautiful, silky and russet-colored; his eyes were dark, set deep above the high planes of his cheekbones. He still had just a hint of childish roundness left around his chin. Altogether, a very pretty face.”
-Twilight. US Paperback. Pg. 119. Chapter Six, Scary Stories.


I think Taylor looks just like Jake should. He’s got the skin color, and he’s the right age. I love the wig that we see in the one MTV interview. I think it’ll look great on-screen. I hate the comments that are like, “He looks so young! He looks like he’s twelve!” He really doesn’t. He looks 16, which is how old Jacob is. Taylor has a “very pretty face”, just like Jake. He may not be Native American, but he looks it, so I don’t care. Taylor looks just like Jacob should.

Alright, that’s it! If you want me to do more people, just ask and I’ll be happy to add!! Thanks for reading, and comment below!!!

Peace.

~ by Gretchen on September 18, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
